F1 Tyrrell 020 Chassis no. 020-6 original car

Chassis ’06’ was used as an uprated B-specification spare team car in early 1992 GPs, having been reworked by designer Mike Coughlan to accept the Ilmor V10 engine in place of the Honda V10. Drivers were Andrea de Cesaris and Olivier Grouillard. Chassis ’06’ was the team spare in South Africa, Mexico, Spain, Imola, Monaco, Canada and France – seven GPs in all but un-raced that year it seems.
The former owner acquired the car as part of a private collection, purchased in 2003. ’06’ is presented today as an engine-less rolling car for display purposes only.

The 1991 race results for ‘020-06’ are as follows:

Canadian GP – Satoru Nakajima – q.12 – 10th and last runner
Mexican GP, Mexico City – Satoru Nakajima – q.13 – 12th and last runner
French GP, Magny-Cours – Satoru Nakajima – q.18 – Rtd, spun off 12 laps
British GP, Silverstone – Satoru Nakajima – q.15 – 8th
German GP, Hockenheim – Satoru Nakajima – q.13 – Rtd, 26 laps gearbox
Hungarian GP, Budapest – Satoru Nakajima – q.14 – 15th
Belgian GP, Spa-Francorchamps – Satoru Nakajima – q.22 – Rtd, slid off lap 7
Italian GP, Monza – Stefano Modena – q.13 – Rtd, engine 32 laps
Portuguese GP, Estoril – Stefano Modena – q. 12 – Rtd, engine, 56 laps
Spanish GP, Barcelona – Stefano Modena – q.14 – 16th
Japanese GP, Suzuka – Satoru Nakajima – q.15 – Rtd, suspension 30 laps
Australian GP, Adelaide – Satoru Nakajima – q.24 – Rtd, collision, 4 laps

• Used throughout the 1991 Grand Prix season
• Originally fitted with the Honda RA101E V10 engine
• Updated to ‘B’ specification in 1992 (Ilmor V10 engine)
• Engine-less ‘show car’ for display purposes only

For many years a successful team owner active in lower formulae, during which time he discovered future World Champion, Jackie Stewart, Ken Tyrrell arrived in Formula 1 as a team principal in 1968 running the Ford Cosworth DFV-powered Matra MS10 for Stewart and Johnny Servoz-Gavin. Incorporating lessons learned with the MS10, Matra’s next effort – the MS80 – proved good enough to bring Stewart his first Drivers’ World Championship in 1969. With Matra determined to use their own V12 engine, and Tyrrell determined to keep the DFV, he had no option to build his own chassis for 1970: the Tyrrell 001. There would be two more World Championships for Stewart and Tyrrell: 1971 (with 003) and 1973 (with 006) before the Scot retired at the end of the ’73 season, his decision influenced by the death of his teammate, François Cevert. There would be many more Grand Prix victories over the years but Tyrrell would never scale such heights again.

1998 was the last season that a Formula 1 car ran under the Tyrrell name, the team having changed hands in 1997. Tyrrell’s purchaser was British American Tobacco, which sold the team on to its engine partner Honda after a few years. Disappointed by a lack of success, Honda parted with the team in a management buyout at the end of 2008. Re-branded as Brawn GP for 2009, the under-funded team miraculously achieved immediate success, with Jensen Button winning the Drivers’ World Championship. Brawn GP also won the Constructors’ Championship that year. The current Mercedes-AMG F1 team is the owner of what was once Tyrrell.

The car offered here is an example of the Tyrell 020, newly introduced for 1991. The 020 was a development of the preceding 019, designed by Dr Harvey Postlethwaite and Jean-Claude Migeot. 019 featured an unusually high nose, the adoption of which enabled the chassis to develop greater downforce; within a few years all F1 cars would go down the ‘high nose’ route. 019 had been powered by the Cosworth DFR V8, but when new driver signing Satoru Nakajima brought a Honda engine contract with him for 1991, it necessitated a redesign to accommodate the Japanese V10: the 020, designed by Postlethwaite and George Ryton.

In the 020’s debut year, Nakajima’s teammate Stefano Modena scored a season’s best 2nd place finish at the Canadian GP; however, for that race the teams and drivers only got half points. The 020 scored a total of 12 points in 1991, taking Tyrell to 6th place in the Constructors’ Championship. For the 1992 season, the 020 was further developed as the Ilmor V10-powered 020B. Tyrrell also had new drivers: Olivier Grouillard and Andrea de Cesaris. The team finished the season with 8 points and 6th place. For the 1993 championship the 020 was revamped yet again as the 020C, on this occasion with a Yamaha V10 as the power unit. De Cesaris was joined by Ukyo Katayama. No points were scored in 1993, despite the 020C being replaced by the 021 midway through the season.


By opening on an appointment-only basis, we’re able to ensure that these hygiene standards are met and that social distancing is practised at all times without compromise. When you do visit us, you can rest assured that you’ll have exclusive access to our space so that you can view our exclusive collection up close in absolute safety.

Arrange an appointment

GPCARS4SALE BV is in no way endorsed by or associated with FOA (Formula One Administration Ltd), the FIA or any race team or sponsor associated with the Formula One World Championship. All references to Formula One, or any derivation thereof, are solely for the purposes of description and do not constitute an endorsement by, or affiliation to, any of the above mentioned bodies or other companies and organisations involved in the running of the FIA Formula One World Championship. F1, FORMULA 1, GRAND PRIX and FIA FORMULA ONE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP are trade marks of Formula One Licensing BV.

Please call us on:+316 52 54 79 03
© 2024 GPCars4Sale.com | General terms and conditions | Disclaimer | Privacy statement | Designed by Met Timm | Build by Sieronline B.V.